Bibliotherapy: Reading for Mental Health

For a very long time and till nowadays books are an important part in many people’s lives. Books are not only source of information or knowledge but they are also pastime and enjoyment. For some people reading is not only a hobby but also a way to bring happiness to their lives, means to retain peaceful mind and reduce tension. For some people reading is a special ritual that helps them to overcome stress, boredom and depression. People read books to escape a reality that makes them sad. Some of them even find a solution to their problems while they read and some of them might find a character that may be in the same situation as a reader is or has the same feelings emotions or outlook on life. These make people feel that they are not alone with their problems in the world. In addition, reading will help you to train your concentration skills. If you have a problem, good concentration skills will help you to focus on the problem and solve it quickly. Moreover if you read detective books it will improve your analytical skills and will help you to understand and solve your inner conflicts. For me books are not only words on a paper, they are also another universe where I can live thousands of lives, they are a safe place where I can be alone with my thoughts and feelings. It is a place where I found a piece of my soul. Taking into account all motioned above I think that readings has always been a therapeutic way of self acceptance, and a wonderful hobby I’ve earned throughout those years.

Оставьте комментарий